top of page

A year ago today - windmills and tulips fields !

Hoi! (Dutch word for Hi... i guess)

Well well well... 2 years away mean a lot of stories to share with you. So not all is bad news! The truth is I've missed this...and todays rainy weather brought up a bit of holidays melancholy. If you have been around here coexisting with me, you already know that I had this trip "planned" for a long time..I guess it was my first post in here. It was indeed something I really really wanted!!!!

The adventure started mainly because one big friend of mine who is currently living/studying in The Netherlands invited me to spend a few days with her in her flat near Nijmegen. After long good discussions we thought it would be a shame not to properly visit the country. So Amsterdam was a must go to! Planning - CHECK

Plane tickets - CHECK Hostel - CHECK

Having fun - CHECK!! Here I go! first solo plane flight, no problem just nice people and a entire window view just for me =D

perfect view

At this point I have arrived in Eindhoven and I am welcomed by the brightest sun ever! And yes of course, there is Lena among the crowd who's waiting for their friends/family, always receiving me with a typical Portuguese huge smile and hug. =D

Unfortunately as we arrived in Nijmegen the sun was gone and I start to understand what real cold is...brrr!!! Thank God every house has a central heating...otherwise I might have lost one or two fingers (which FYI are super duper thin and so poorly blood irrigated).


Meet Lena's house mates - CHECK (all nice Dutch/German people who presented me with a very much british tea ahaha)

Shower - CHECK


Enjoy a typical Dutch dinner - CHECK - and lets pause here...OH MY! this soup they cooked was one of the best soups I've ever tasted!! It had some cream, corn, a little tiny bit of meat, mushrooms and it was so so hot! but i guess it's the way you're supposed to eat it with 2/3 slices of "right out of the oven" bread uhmmmm!



Well after my guts were totally full and pleased and as it was Carnival we went out...we weren't that lucky cause by 23h there were no more parties... so back home! ZZZzzzzzz

DAY 1 / 2

NIJMEGEN (just gonna show you a small sample of the 3000 photos I've taken.. i think you won't mind)

In one of this houses used to live the mother of Karl Marx

On the street pictured above, we found a mark that stated Karl Marx's mom used to live there!

Nijmegen city centre

Nijmegen - MuZIEum - A MUST GO TO - led around by blind people facing daily obstacles experienced from the perspective of the ones who can't see.

So this is all for today, soon I will post the second part of this trip! I promise a lot more photos =D

see you soon! Beatriz Tempero


bottom of page